Misdemeanor Cases

A misdemeanor in the state of Florida is any crime punishable by up to one year in county jail. There are two types of misdemeanors that the state of Florida recognizes. The first one being, first-degree misdemeanor that is punishable up to a full year in the county jail and a $1,000.00 fine or 1 year of probation. The second misdemeanor is punishable up to sixty (60) days in jail, a fine of $500.00, and or six (6) months of probation. Some crimes are misdemeanors the first or second time you are convicted, but repeat offenses may lead to felony charges with prison sentences that may exceed a year. 

There are different types of crimes in which are considered misdemeanors. Listed below are several and are not limited to the misdemeanor offenses which the Law Office of Grant & Dozier, LLC have defended:

  • Shoplifting UNDER $300.00
  • Petit Theft
  • Solicitation for prostitution 
  • Indecent exposure
  • Possession of marijuana, under twenty (20) grams
  • Possession of Paraphernalia
  • Domestic Violence/Spousal Abuse
  • Assault & Battery
  • Driving offenses
  • DUI/DWI/Drunk Driving
  • First and second time driving with license suspended charges
  • Reckless driving
  • Leaving the Scene of a Accident